Despite my Southern roots, I’d never heard of buttermilk pie. Dorie used buttermilk pie as the inspiration for this bar cookie. I didn’t know what to expect when I took a bite. They are unexpectedly mild in taste, custardy, not too sweet, with a touch of salt. The texture reminds me of bread pudding. And I love bread pudding. Dorie scores again with an unusual combination of textures and flavors. Delicious.
I wanted to take this cookie to a potluck, but noticed it only makes 16 cookies. So I doubled the recipe and used a 9×13 inch pan instead of an 8×8. I baked the crust and the bar longer to adjust for the increased pan size. I was a little apprehensive about flipping the larger pan, thinking the cookie might not hold together. However, it came out of the pan nicely and in one piece. I cut the bars smaller than called for in the recipe. A good choice; these bars are very rich.

